Hindu Priest For Wedding Ceremony In New Jersey, Edison-NJ, Area

Vaag-daan, Tilak & Sagun (Engagement): It is a commitment by the bride's parents to complete the marriage of a future date acceptance by the parents of bridegroom.

Ganesh, Navagrah Puja and 'Chura' Sait or Shantipath: Lord Ganesh is worshipped for success of the ceremony. Chura is given by the brides' maternal uncle Mama as a blessing and well wishing for her married life. Offering Chunni to the bride to signify that from this time onwards she is the breater of the respect fo the groom's family.

Sehra and Badhu Grahaa-gaman: Groom's dressing with Sehra and Garland and proceeding to the bride's house.

Milani: A warm welcome and greeting of the groom's parents by bride's parents and other close family members with garlands and gifts mostly cash. Aarati offered to the groom.

Jaimala: Formal acceptance of each other by bride and bridegroom with garlands.

Madhupark: Reception of bridegroom by bride's father with yogurt and honey.

Sarva Dev Poojan: Lord Ganesh, nine planets, sixteen Matrikas, sixty-four Yoginies, seven ghee Matrikas are Varuna, Main Kalash, Sun and Kula Devatas are invited and worshipped. In their presence Kanyadan is performed.

Kanyadan: (giving away of dauther)

Paanigrahan: (Taking the hand of the bride) Seven sentences are pronounced by both.

Gathbandhan: (Sacred Union of two souls)

Aashirvaad: (Blessings)

Homa and Laja Hom: (Baked rice grains into the fire) Establishing the fire and offering of Samagri into the fire. In the first four rounds graings are offered in the fire by the bride and bridegroom which are given to her by her brother. That signifies that she is leaing her family to join husband's family.

Parikrama: Mostly when all the rituals i.e. Ashmarohan (Shilarohan), feras, gathagan and Saptpadi are performed together they take seven rounds around the fire. If all of these are performed separately they take the only four rounds. First four rounds are dedicated for four aims of life i.e. Dharma (righteiousness to follow the rules of religion, duty, morality and spirituality) Artha (wealth for livelihood, sharing with poor and misfortuante, to work hard and to earn money with right means) Kaam (love, physical and mental support and satisfaction, dedication between husband and wife throughout life Moksha (liberation from this world of suffering by abiding the law of household life).

Saptpadi (Main part of the wedding ceremony):

1. In your grief, I shall fill your heart with courage and strength. In your happiness, I shall rejoice, and I promise you that I will please you always with sweet words and take care of the family and children.

2. We promise that we shall discharge all responsibilities of the household life.

3. You shall be the only person to whom I shall love and respect as my life partner. I will love you with single-minded devotion.

4. I will decorate your life.

5. I will share both in your joys and sorrows. Your love will make me trust and honor you. I will carry out your wishes.

6. In all acts of righteousness, in every form of enjoyment and divine acts, we promise that we shall partcipate.

7. As per God and Holy Scriptures, I have become yours. Whatever promises we gave, we have spoken in pure mind. We will be truthful to each other in all things. We will love, respect and honor each other and our marriage will be forever and ever.

Hridaya Sparsha: Groom touches the shoulder of bride. Sindur, Mangalsutra, Suhag, symbolizing her as a married woman and joining of the groom's family. 

Blessings: Bride and bridegroom are blessed and congratulated by all the participants.

Shanti Path:

May there be peace in the heavely region. May there be peacein the atmosphere. May peace reign on the Earth. May the water be soothein and plants be the source of peace to all. May all the enlightened persons bring peace to us. May the Bedas spread peace throughout the Universe. May all other objects give us peace and may peace even bring peace to all. May that peace come to us. Om Shanti! Shanti! Shanti!